David's Bridal Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for CT229 Beaded lace mermaid gown with bolero jacket.

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at David's Bridal.

CT229 Beaded lace mermaid gown with bolero jacket.

David's Bridal exclusive Oleg Cassini Collection. Beaded lace mermaid gown with bolero jacket. Chapel train. Also available in Woman sizes 14W-26W as Style 8CT229 (Special Order Only). *Special Value: Now $750! (final selling price; no additional discount may be applied).
Average Customer Rating:
4.939 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(49 Reviews) 49
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (49 reviews)
5 hearts
46
4 hearts
3
3 hearts
0
2 hearts
0
1 heart
0
49 of 49(100%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for CT229 Beaded lace mermaid gown with bolero jacket.
Review 21 for CT229 Beaded lace mermaid gown with bolero jacket.
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
southerngal
Wedding season:Fall
Number of wedding guests:151-200
Number in wedding party:2-4 Bridesmaids

The most gorgeous dress ever!

Date:May 27, 2008
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
" I had originally bought another dress from David's Bridal. It was gorgeous but just not "me". It was too poufy and big for my taste. I went back hoping to find something more streamlined. The associate helping me pulled this dress even though I hadn't asked to try it on. She assured me that I would like it. Was she ever right!! As soon as I saw myself in the mirror I knew it was the one. I chose the ivory/champagne combo which compliments my fair (with golden undertones) skin complexion. I will not be wearing the jacket either because it is just not my style but I can see why other girls would want to wear it! YOU DO NOT HAVE TO BE STICK THIN TO WEAR THIS DRESS. Actually, it looks a lot BETTER on girls who already have some curves because it accentuates them nicely. I cannot tell you all how much I love this dress. Can't wait to wear it for my October wedding! "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 22 for CT229 Beaded lace mermaid gown with bolero jacket.
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ApriBride
Location:Bading Hallow, NY
Wedding season:Spring
Wedding theme:Formal
Wedding color(s):Black
Number of wedding guests:101-150
Number in wedding party:2-4 Bridesmaids

Amazing Dress

Date:May 15, 2008
" I have to say I knew this was the dress for me from the moment I stepped into it. I had gone into Davids Bridal one night with my Mom and Sister just to see what I would look good in. The traditional gowns are just not me. I have never felt like a million dollars in an outfit until I put this dress on. It is both classic and elegant and I didnt break the bank. I received so many compliments on my wedding day because people thought I had the dress custom made then I told them it was from David's Bridal and they were completely impressed. I did not wear the jacket because I personally think it takes away from the dress and besides it is sooooooooo itchy. "
Review 23 for CT229 Beaded lace mermaid gown with bolero jacket.
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LuckiestBride
Location:Cairo, Egypt
Wedding season:Summer
Wedding theme:Religious
Wedding color(s):Ivory
Number of wedding guests:201+
Number in wedding party:0-1 Bridesmaids

Jacket is the best part of the dress!!

Date:May 8, 2008
" I don't understand how anyone could buy this dress and NOT wear the jacket. The jacket gives the dress a sophistication none of the other dresses at the store had, and the contrast between skin tone and the lace is just gorgeous. I actually wasn't in love with this dress when I bought it, it just had everything I wanted: lace, slim line, ivory/champagne color, jacket/sleeves. I was kind of worried that it was too heavy and too beady, but when it was finally altered and I took it home and tried it on it was the most beautiful thing I'd ever worn. I just fell in love with it, and I am DEFINITELY not the type of person who falls in love with dresses!!
P.S. Make sure they give you some extra beads when you take the dress home!!
"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 24 for CT229 Beaded lace mermaid gown with bolero jacket.
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mstopgun1999
Location:New Bern,NC
Wedding season:Summer
Wedding theme:Formal
Wedding color(s):Red
Number of wedding guests:151-200
Number in wedding party:5-7 Bridesmaids

The Best Dress in The Store!!

Date:May 1, 2008
" This dress is so gorgeous!! My husband and I are renewing our vows in August.Our wedding date was when Sept 11 happen and due to him being in the Navy he was sent to Iraq. So we did get married but during bible study before he left.Now years later we are doing our "wedding"and I didn't want a "poofy"gown.I saw this dress online and walked right in to David's Bridal,tried on this one gown and bought it right then and there.My husband and friends are going to be so surprise.It is simply just gorgeous.The saleslady thought it was so amazing for someone to walk right in with no appointment,try on a gown and purchase it without even looking at any other dresses.I look so good in this gown and so tall(I'm only 5,1)This was the best purchase ever/the best dress in the store.This dress is timeless. "
Review 25 for CT229 Beaded lace mermaid gown with bolero jacket.
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Drago
Location:Lindenhurst, NY
Wedding theme:Other
Wedding color(s):Brown
Number of wedding guests:51-100
Number in wedding party:2-4 Bridesmaids

Gorgeous

Date:April 3, 2008
" I originally went to the store for a different Oleg Cassini dress but they didn't have it is the right size. Luckily, the sales girl pulled this one out just to see which size of his would fit me best. Thank goodness she did. As soon as I stepped out and saw the dress on me, I was sold. I had tried on a bunch of dresses that day and when I came out in this one, I had other brides that were there telling me to stop looking and to buy this one. When random strangers have that strong of an opinion, it has to mean something!
I opted for the champagne and ivory. I am 5'1" and this dress makes me look so much taller. I never liked the mermaid style, but this one is so slight that it looks like an a-line on me. Not to mention the instant hour glass figure that it gave me. I could not be happier with this dress and I can't wait to walk down the aisle in it.
I was happy that it came with the bolero, but the jacket is so itchy that I can't wear it. I will not wear a strapless dress, so I added sleeves to it and they gave the dress and instantly different feel. I added sleeve style 3Q1. The lace work and bit of sparkle match perfectly. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 26 for CT229 Beaded lace mermaid gown with bolero jacket.
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jynni
Location:Atlanta, Ga
Wedding season:Winter
Wedding theme:Other
Wedding color(s):Ivory
Number of wedding guests:0-50
Number in wedding party:0-1 Bridesmaids

FANTASTIC WEDDING GOWN!!!

Date:March 3, 2008
" The photo does not do this wedding gown justice. I must have tried on at least 25 wedding gowns. I was looking fo something with straps and form fitting. I had looked at this gown several times on line but never really considered it. My consultant told me about the gown so I tried it on. As soon as I did, I knew that this was the one!! I added straps to gown which gave it another entire feel and look. I felt and looked like a million bucks!!!!! "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 27 for CT229 Beaded lace mermaid gown with bolero jacket.
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
PleasedAngie
Location:Bronx, NY
Wedding season:Summer
Wedding theme:Formal
Wedding color(s):Ivory
Number of wedding guests:101-150
Number in wedding party:2-4 Bridesmaids

Simply Elegant

Date:February 29, 2008
" Hello!!!!
I had already purchased another Oleg Cassini dress for my June 2008 wedding. When I went to David's Bridal to pick up my flower girl dresses I saw this dress. Something draw me to the dress, and it is true the picture nor the dress on a hanger does it justice. What drew me to it was the color and the detail work on the dress. After I tried it on (which everyone tells you not to do after you already have your dress) me, my mother and my consultant just gasped as to how beautiful it looked. And believe it or not since I did not do any alterations on my present dress they let me exchange it. I have not told anyone I changed my dress. I cannot wait to surprise everyone with this mermaid dress which is totally out of character for me. But since this is a non-traditional wedding I felt I needed a more sexy look. I am very pleased with my dress and I cannot wait to wear it.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 28 for CT229 Beaded lace mermaid gown with bolero jacket.
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tbride
Location:Austin, Texas
Wedding season:Fall
Wedding theme:Formal
Number of wedding guests:101-150
Number in wedding party:5-7 Bridesmaids

Most beautiful dress in the store

Date:February 16, 2008
" Don't judge this dress by the picture online it is horrible! I tried on over 20 different dresses and when I tried this one on I knew it was the one. I am only 5'2 and very small framed so I knew I did not want one of those giant hideous poofy dresses that can swallow girls up my size. This dress elongates me so much more than any of the others (which helps when your husband to be is a foot taller) Another important part is that for girls like me who are always on the pale side and can't do straight white, this dress in champagne and ivory is so so pretty. Also I got rid of the jacket and put cap sleeves on it which really helped. This dress is so classy and timeless, I love it! "
7 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 29 for CT229 Beaded lace mermaid gown with bolero jacket.
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
BridetoBeWilson
Wedding season:Fall
Wedding theme:Religious
Wedding color(s):Brown
Number of wedding guests:51-100
Number in wedding party:2-4 Bridesmaids

Elegant and Classy

Date:February 15, 2008
" I loved this dress not only in the picture, but especially when I viewed the runway clip. I am getting married September of 2008 and I do not plan on wearing the bolero jacket, as I feel it takes away from the delicate beadwork and it was itchy. This dress is gorgeous, and heavy, but it feels fine on and is only heavy because it is well made and of high quality. I paired it with two blusher veils from David's in champagne, as I chose the dress in champagne/ivory. I had to try on a 4 and it was way too big, so instead of ordering a 0, to be safe, I ordered the 2 and will have that altered down. I can't wait for it to arrive!!! I am 5'3 and slender and this gave me curves and dimension. "
Review 30 for CT229 Beaded lace mermaid gown with bolero jacket.
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
Location:East Bernard, TX
Wedding season:Winter
Wedding theme:Religious
Wedding color(s):Red
Number of wedding guests:201+
Number in wedding party:5-7 Bridesmaids

Dress of OurDreams

Date:February 12, 2008
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
" We attended the Bridal Extravaganza and this dress is the one he saw on the runway. My fiance (now husband) said, "now that is a wedding dress"! I didn't say anything because I fell in love with this dress earlier when we went to David's Bridal booth. I did get the dress but I made him think I bought a different dress because I wanted him to be shocked. I think he was the happiest groom as soon as he saw me walk down the isle in the dress he kind of picked out. During the ceremony I had to tell him to be quiet because he kept telling me how beautiful I was. I had to work out like crazy to fit and look good in it but it was worth it! Now I am happily married and pregnant with twins! "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 31 for CT229 Beaded lace mermaid gown with bolero jacket.
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
1Happybuyer

Best purchase

Date:January 19, 2008
" I was looking for just the right dress, to conceal some of my body flaws. This dress was perfect. I wear a 16, the 16W was the perfect dress. I DO NOT have to get one thing altered (except the bussle done). I was very, very pleased. It was the first and last I dress I had to try on. I was in the store maybe a 1/2 hour and out within an hour having purchased my dress. Thanks David's bridal for making it so easy and having just the right selection for me. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 32 for CT229 Beaded lace mermaid gown with bolero jacket.
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shelley
Location:Westchester, NY
Wedding season:Summer
Wedding theme:Religious
Wedding color(s):Green
Number of wedding guests:151-200
Number in wedding party:5-7 Bridesmaids

Picture does not do this dress justice

Date:January 18, 2008
" No matter the season this dress is absoultely stunning. My wedding was in July and I had received so many compliments from people that I did not even know. There was another reception going on and guests from that wedding had stopped to tell me what a beautiful wedding gown this was. It was the first one I tried on. Tried others on but everyone told me that I had an extra glow in this dress. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 33 for CT229 Beaded lace mermaid gown with bolero jacket.
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JMessy
Wedding season:Winter
Wedding theme:Formal
Wedding color(s):Red
Number of wedding guests:101-150
Number in wedding party:8+ Bridesmaids

LOVE this dress!!

Date:January 9, 2008
" I wore this dress for my wedding on 12/15/07. Amazing is all the can say! The amount of compliments I received on this dress was unreal. I truly felt so glamorous! "
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 34 for CT229 Beaded lace mermaid gown with bolero jacket.
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MichelleAlviso
Location:Stamford, CT
Wedding season:Fall
Wedding theme:Seasonal
Wedding color(s):Red
Number of wedding guests:201+
Number in wedding party:8+ Bridesmaids

Beautiful Gown

Date:January 5, 2008
" This gown is very elegant and I can't wait to wear it. What drew me to this dress is its elaborate lace work and nice fit. I prefer the mermaid cut than the puffy ones because I am short and this slim fit makes me look taller. The train is just gorgeous I feel like a beauty pageant wearing the dress. You have to try this gown on to see how beautiful it is. I love the bolero jacket since my wedding will be in the Fall. It is a complete attire. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 35 for CT229 Beaded lace mermaid gown with bolero jacket.
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lily

Beautiful!

Date:December 31, 2007
" I agree that this picture does not do the dress justice. I personally think it is MUCH prettier in person and without the jacket. I just tried on and bought this dress this afternoon and am completely in love with it. I didn't think I would like it from the picture but when I put it on I knew it was perfect! "
Review 36 for CT229 Beaded lace mermaid gown with bolero jacket.
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DashBride
Location:Ohio
Wedding season:Winter
Wedding theme:Other
Wedding color(s):Black
Number of wedding guests:0-50
Number in wedding party:0-1 Bridesmaids

Amazing!

Date:December 20, 2007
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
" My fiance and I are very non-traditional, and the same goes for our upcoming wedding. However, I knew I definitely wanted a REAL wedding dress for my big day. I loved this dress in the catalog and online, and was by far more impressed when I saw it in person. I agree with other reviews: this picture does not even begin to show the beauty of this dress! I chose the champagne shade, as I am fairly pale. They did not have my size on the rack when I made my appointment, so the sample I tried on was much too large. I knew I had to have the dress, so I ordered it anyway. When my size came in, it was stunning! A near perfect fit, in fact. My wedding is next December, but I will freeze further and forgo the bolero jacket, as it is too stuffy for my personal style. My consultant was very informative about how to store the dress and transport it safely. If you've got the figure for it, I highly recommend this dress! "
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 37 for CT229 Beaded lace mermaid gown with bolero jacket.
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
disneygirl
Location:Disneys Wedding Pavilion
Wedding season:Winter
Wedding theme:Formal
Wedding color(s):Red
Number of wedding guests:0-50
Number in wedding party:0-1 Bridesmaids

Gorgeous gown for vow renewal!

Date:December 1, 2007
" My husband and I were renewing our vows at Disney's Wedding Pavilion, and I needed a formal, elegant gown. I had gone to many shops, and was having no luck. I have been married for 15 years, so I wanted to look elegant and sophisticated, not like the mother of the bride, not cutesy! This gown was on display, and as soon as I saw it, I fell in love! The gown in champagne is dramaric, and photographs beautifully, and the jacket is just the right touch-it was chilly in Orlando that day. I had a French bustle put on it, and it was very comfortable, and easy to move in. Wore it for 12 hours, and got many compliments. I am petite, and it didn't overwhelm me, as many other dresses had. Highly recommend it-most beautiful gown I had seen! "
Review 38 for CT229 Beaded lace mermaid gown with bolero jacket.
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JoAnne
Wedding season:Summer
Wedding theme:Formal
Wedding color(s):Yellow
Number of wedding guests:201+
Number in wedding party:8+ Bridesmaids

Beautiful!

Date:November 26, 2007
" I'm sorry but that picture is horrible... you really have to try it on yourself to see how wonder this dress is. I'm so glad I did not buy the dress that I originally wanted. This dress is great without the jacket. "
Review 39 for CT229 Beaded lace mermaid gown with bolero jacket.
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
mrsdriver
Location:Alabama
Wedding season:Fall
Wedding color(s):Brown

My Husband Loved It

Date:November 22, 2007
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
" My husband loved the dress; as did everyone else. Be warned: it took four months to come in from the day it was ordered. Otherwise, no complaints :)
I wore it for an afternoon wedding in November. My mother altered the bolero by making the sleeves shorter and adding a beaded trim around the edge. I wore the jacket because I felt it made the dress more unique.
"
20 of 21 people found this review helpful.
Review 40 for CT229 Beaded lace mermaid gown with bolero jacket.
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jendec
Location:TN
Wedding season:Winter
Wedding theme:Formal
Wedding color(s):Red
Number of wedding guests:151-200
Number in wedding party:5-7 Bridesmaids

The picture is an injustice to this dress

Date:November 5, 2007
" I would never have picked this dress from the advertisement picture. The consultant pulled this dress for me and I fell in love. It was over my budget and I tried to fall for a cheaper dress. Once my mom and my aunt saw me in it and started crying I knew it was the one. Once you remove the bolero, it's is truly like a different dress especially when bustled. I can not wait until my Dec. 07 wedding. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.