David's Bridal Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for S8551 Allover beaded lace gown with empire waist.

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at David's Bridal.

S8551 Allover beaded lace gown with empire waist.

Allover beaded lace gown with empire waist. Sweep train.Available in white or ivory.
Average Customer Rating:
4.718 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(39 Reviews) 38
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (39 reviews)
5 hearts
30
4 hearts
7
3 hearts
2
2 hearts
0
1 heart
0
38 of 39(97%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for S8551 Allover beaded lace gown with empire waist.
Review 1 for S8551 Allover beaded lace gown with empire waist.
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
NLAW
Location:Hartville, OH
Wedding season:Summer
Wedding theme:Garden
Wedding color(s):Red
Number of wedding guests:51-100
Number in wedding party:0-1 Bridesmaids

I LOVED THIS DRESS!

Date:January 22, 2009
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
" I wore this for my summer wedding. It was light and comfortable. The picture, as you have read in previous reviews, does not do it justice. It was flattering and when I tried it on I knew I had to have it. The dress made me feel like a bride. I didn't feel like the dress was wearing me, I was wearing the dress. It was elegant and lovely and PERFECT! "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for S8551 Allover beaded lace gown with empire waist.
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
8109
Wedding season:Summer
Wedding theme:Beach
Wedding color(s):Red
Number of wedding guests:51-100
Number in wedding party:5-7 Bridesmaids

So Much Prettier in Real Life

Date:January 15, 2009
" When I saw this in the catalogue, I didn't think I was going to like it. The model looks uncomfortable in the picture and that was the last thing I wanted on my wedding day. My consultant picked it anyways and this was the first one I tried on. I felt like I needed to keep looking, but I kept going back to this one. Nothing else made more sense for my beach wedding. I added the cap sleeves and a champagne colored sash to make it my own. I've tried it on 4 times since I bought it and each time I put it on I remember why it was such an easy purchase. It is light, flattering and made me feel like a bride... not just a girl in a big white dress. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for S8551 Allover beaded lace gown with empire waist.
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
Location:Paris,Tx
Wedding season:Fall
Wedding theme:Casual
Wedding color(s):Orange
Number of wedding guests:51-100
Number in wedding party:2-4 Bridesmaids

perfect decision!!

Date:January 5, 2009
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
" ...The picture online doesn't give this dress the credit it deserves! It is sooo beautiful...all the beads and lace...its just a classic but yet still simple gown. I had my seamstress tack a sash on it that tied in a bow at the back. The only thing that was a small problem was that it was falling down a little bit. It wouldn't have done this that bad if my bra was just tacked in only in the front and not on the sides of the bra. But over all it was an awesome dress for my wedding. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for S8551 Allover beaded lace gown with empire waist.
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sunnyday
Location:florida
Wedding season:Spring
Wedding theme:Beach
Wedding color(s):Blue
Number of wedding guests:0-50
Number in wedding party:2-4 Bridesmaids

beautiful and elegant

Date:December 31, 2008
" after deciding the location would be the beach i decided to go for a loose and light dress.. but i saw this dress and said ill try this just to see what the style looks like. i tried it on 1st and didn't try the others on. it is so beautiful and feminine, but very light for the beach. i think anyone who tries this on will love it. i have curves and it defines them well . "
Review 5 for S8551 Allover beaded lace gown with empire waist.
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
KansanBride
Location:Kansas City, KS
Wedding season:Summer

Happy with it

Date:December 29, 2008
" I tried this on after liking it online and ended up choosing it! I definitely have an hourglass figure, but the dress doesn't look as mermaid-shaped on me as it does on the model (I am 5'5" and street size 8/10 and bought a 12). I chose this dress for several reasons: it's light and comfortable, so I won't be weighed down or get too hot at my June outdoor reception; it looks nice from the back and side; the lace is uniform, so it can be altered; and it's beautiful and feminine without being too frilly, which is perfect for me! My only complaint is that the lace is already starting to come apart in a few places. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for S8551 Allover beaded lace gown with empire waist.
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
Location:Connecticut
Wedding season:Spring
Wedding theme:Destination
Wedding color(s):Ivory
Number of wedding guests:0-50
Number in wedding party:0-1 Bridesmaids

Beautiful gown...

Date:December 28, 2008
" My sister and I both got engaged this year, so we decided to make a girls' day and go to David's Bridal. Although I felt real rushed to try on about 5 gowns in whatever given time we had, this one was the last one - it's perfect. I'm getting married on a beach in Maui, HI so I wanted something to be comfortable in, not something poofy. I sat down across from a mirror and I noticed how nice it falls to my feet. I especially love it because my grandmother's pearls will look nice with the gown (almost like she's there with me). I bought it in Ivory - I would have never thought of not buying a white dress, but because I have fair skin and blonde hair - it brings out my golden tones. "
Review 7 for S8551 Allover beaded lace gown with empire waist.
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
teach4u
Location:Dominican Republic
Wedding season:Summer
Wedding theme:Beach

This was it!

Date:November 10, 2008
" I had seen this dress on the website and I fell in love with it, but I didn't know if it would fit me correctly (5'3"...size 2). Ironically, I did not tell my consultant I wanted to try on this dress. However, it was the first one she brought me. It fit me like a glove! We're getting married on the beach, so this dress fits perfectly Even though it is heavily laced and beaded, it's still rather light...compared to the other dresses I tried on. So, it should travel very well. I paired it with a cathedral veil, which looks wonderful! A long veil on the beach will make for some great pictures. The dress is so comfortable. I'm not even worried about constantly having to readjust and pull up the top. Everything is snug! I would definitely recommend this dress. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for S8551 Allover beaded lace gown with empire waist.
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Karebear08
Location:Granada Hills, CA
Wedding season:Summer
Wedding theme:Garden
Wedding color(s):Orange
Number of wedding guests:51-100
Number in wedding party:0-1 Bridesmaids

Love it!

Date:October 17, 2008
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
" I loved it!! this dress was the first one I tried, and ended up choosing this one after I had tried Many other ones.. simple yet elegant! loved it for my small intimate lovely wedding!! "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for S8551 Allover beaded lace gown with empire waist.
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
kemp
Location:San Antonio, TX
Wedding season:Fall
Wedding theme:Garden
Wedding color(s):Ivory
Number of wedding guests:151-200
Number in wedding party:8+ Bridesmaids

Great Buy!

Date:October 2, 2008
" I was interested in an all lace gown with some beading, but after trying on 5 HEAVY dresses, I wan't sure anymore. The attendant showed me this one, and luckily I gave it a try! I bought it in ivory ten minutes later! I did have the neckline altered to sweetheart so it was more flattering along with some more pearls, but it is simple yet elegant. The only thing dressing this one up is a pair of chandalier earrings! "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for S8551 Allover beaded lace gown with empire waist.
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LaTisha
Location:San Bernardino, CA
Wedding season:Summer
Wedding theme:Destination
Wedding color(s):Orange
Number of wedding guests:51-100
Number in wedding party:2-4 Bridesmaids

beautiful shimmer

Date:September 22, 2008
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
" My wedding was on the beach in Jamaica, right before sunset. This dress was perfect. The fit was great, I felt very comfortable. I loved that it shimmered and glistened in the sun light. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for S8551 Allover beaded lace gown with empire waist.
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ToriC

Great dress, but watch out!!!!!!

Date:August 13, 2008
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
" This dress is s beautiful dress and I really loved it. The picture on this website does not do it any justice. But a caution to all....... When you try it on, you think that it is a very light dress. And it is until you bustle the dress. But because the dress has so much beading on it, once bustled it gets very heavy on the bottom of the dress. What happens is it pulls the dress down. As I was researching resorts for the wedding, I noticed pictures of several brides that had the same dress. What I found was that after they had the dress on for a while, the weight was pulling it down creating a not so attractive gravity effect. My seamstress reccommended that I put in lingerie straps. Unfortunately I did not have the type of undergarment to work with lingerie straps, so we settled on lingerie tape. As a result I was constantly pulling the dress back up. The lingerie tape was not quite strong enough to keep the dress in place. It did help though and I do reccommend that you use it along with the lingerie straps. Over all I think the dress was beautiful, and it photographed really well. "
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for S8551 Allover beaded lace gown with empire waist.
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
clips97
Wedding season:Winter
Wedding theme:Destination
Number of wedding guests:101-150
Number in wedding party:2-4 Bridesmaids

perfect for my destination wedding

Date:August 6, 2008
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
" This was my 3rd time at DB and had tried approx. 15 dresses from the store and from other bridal shops without any luck. Well, today was the day! I had always seen this dress online, but the truth is I wasn't impressed by the catalog picture. Although I've always liked (and wanted) a lace/beaded dress, it just seemed plain and non-elegant. Regardless, today I decided to give it a try, and as soon as I put it on I knew it was THE one. It was the first dress I tried on, and after wearing it I knew trying the other dresses was pointless. It fits sooo well, even when I'm on the busty/wide back/petite side. Its very light and comfy, so... I'll be able to dance the night away in our tropical/country wedding. "
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for S8551 Allover beaded lace gown with empire waist.
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nicky5209
Location:New York
Wedding season:Summer
Wedding theme:Formal
Number of wedding guests:51-100
Number in wedding party:2-4 Bridesmaids

Absolutely Beautiful!

Date:August 2, 2008
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
" This was my second trip to David's Bridal. I wanted something with lace and beading but not anything poofy. When they brought this dress out, it caught my eye right away! It is very elegant and a great price. I'm going to wear it with the lapis color sash at my reception, plain at the wedding. David's Bridal was very nice and helpful. I can't wait for 5-2-09! "
Review 14 for S8551 Allover beaded lace gown with empire waist.
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sodakgirl
Location:Rapid City, SD
Wedding season:Winter
Wedding theme:Other
Wedding color(s):Black
Number of wedding guests:101-150
Number in wedding party:2-4 Bridesmaids

Love this dress!!

Date:July 15, 2008
" I had been to a couple bridal stores in the smaller town I live in. I went to a David's Bridal in another city to see if I had any better luck there.
I went with my step-mom and 10 year old daughter to look. This being a simple, non-formal wedding, I didn't want a big, fluffy wedding dress. This was the first dress I tried on, and LOVED it. My step-mom kept telling me that this was the one. My daughter loved it too.
The only problem with the dress is that it is very long. I am 5'7" and still had to have a size 6 hemmed up about 3 inches - and the alterations are expensive due to the beading!!
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for S8551 Allover beaded lace gown with empire waist.
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
madam

love it!

Date:July 9, 2008
" My Mom and I had planned to go several places to look for dresses and David's Bridal was our first stop. This dress was the first one I picked out. Going to David's Bridal I had an image in my head of what I wanted it to be and this was nothing like what I ever could imagine. I picked out several different types of gowns and then tryed them on, when my mom and my sister saw me in this dress it brought tears to thier eyes. This dress is so absolutely beautiful and it fits me perfectly. I would suggest this dress to any upcoming bride. "
Review 16 for S8551 Allover beaded lace gown with empire waist.
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DestinationBride08
Location:Maui, HI
Wedding season:Summer
Wedding theme:Beach
Number of wedding guests:0-50

Beautiful Dress

Date:June 10, 2008
" I agree with the other reviews that the dress is really tight in the hips, and tends to bunch up towards the bust. It was one of the few dresses to fit a larger bustline, but is tight on the hips... I'm having it altered to tone down the bunching, by cinching the lining more towards the bustline. "
Review 17 for S8551 Allover beaded lace gown with empire waist.
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
almostmrsnicholas

Awesome Gown

Date:June 5, 2008
" This was the 5th dress I tried on at Davids Bridal and I instantly knew this was the one. I had tried on other lacy dresses at other bridal shops, but this one was perfect. The lace is gorgeous with the pearls and the beading sparkles in the light. Its awesome. "
Review 18 for S8551 Allover beaded lace gown with empire waist.
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
COUNTRYMOM
Location:WESTERVILLE
Wedding season:Summer
Wedding theme:Casual
Wedding color(s):Blue
Number of wedding guests:51-100
Number in wedding party:2-4 Bridesmaids

THE ONE THAT MADE MY MOM CRY

Date:May 24, 2008
" I MADE MY 4TH TRIP TO DAVID'S TO TRY DIFFERENT DRESSES. THIS WAS A TRIP TO TRY ON A FEW THAT WERE ON SALE. MY MOM WANTED ME TO TRY DIFFERENT STYLES AS SHE HADN'T BEEN WITH ME THE OTHER VISITS. WHEN I CAME OUT WEARING THIS ONE SHE STARTED CRYING. I KNEW THIS WAS THE ONE. WITH THIS BEING MY SECOND MARRIAGE, BUT MY FIANCEE'S FIRST, WE WANTED SIMPLE BUT ELEGANT. I WANTED A DRESS THAT WOULD LET PEOPLE KNOW I WAS THE BRIDE WITHOUT BEING TOO "CINDERELLA." THIS DRESS IS PERFECT FOR OUR JULY OUTSIDE WEDDING AND RECEPTION. A LOT OF THE OTHERS WERE JUST TOO HEAVY. THE ONLY PROBLEM I HAVE IS THAT I AM ONLY A 5'2". I WILL HAVE TO GET IT SHORTENED ABOUT 2 INCHES. AS FOR THE FIT, I AM NO LONGER ONE OF THOS SIZE 4 GIRLS. I TYPICALLY WEAR A SIZE 12-14 PANT. I WAS WORRIED AT FIRST ABOUT THIS STYLE, BUT RECEIVED NUMEROUS COMPLIMENTS FROM OTHER CUSTOMERS IN THE STORE. THIS DRESS IN A 14 FITS EVERYWHERE EXCEPT THE LENGTH. GO AHEAD AND TRY SOMETHING NEW. YOU MIGHT JUST LEARN SOMETHING ABOUT YOURSELF THAT DAY. I DID. "
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for S8551 Allover beaded lace gown with empire waist.
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kaalie
Location:Royal Caribbean Cruise, California
Wedding season:Summer
Wedding theme:Beach
Wedding color(s):Blue
Number of wedding guests:0-50
Number in wedding party:2-4 Bridesmaids

Simply Wonderful

Date:May 6, 2008
" As soon as I saw this dress I knew it was the one. I bought it originally thinking I was having a regular church wedding. However, we ended up moving up the date and getting married on a cruise. Needless to say the dress was rather scrunched up traveling. When I got there it still looked flawless! It was the perfect dress for travel and a summer cruise wedding. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for S8551 Allover beaded lace gown with empire waist.
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
purplehearts
Location:Snellvill, GA
Wedding season:Summer
Wedding theme:Casual
Wedding color(s):Purple
Number of wedding guests:51-100
Number in wedding party:8+ Bridesmaids

My Dress

Date:May 3, 2008
" This was the first dress I tried on and I loved it so much. When I saw myself in the mirror I knew it was the one, but I tried on several more dresses to make my consultant job not so easy. LOL "