David's Bridal Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Short Charmeuse Dress with Ruched Waist and Pocket

Short Charmeuse Dress with Ruched Waist and Pocket

This short charmeuse dress is fun and stylish. The strapless neckline is sleek and fun. It has a ruched waist and pockets! Wear this dress to a wedding and again for another special occasion. The basic silhouette will keep this dress in your closet for years. Fully lined. Back zip. Imported polyester. Dry clean only. Get inspired by our colors. To protect your dress, try our Non Woven Garment Bag.
Average Customer Rating:
4.177 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(141 Reviews) 137
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (141 reviews)
5 hearts
89
4 hearts
20
3 hearts
13
2 hearts
6
1 heart
13
113 of 141(80%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Short Charmeuse Dress with Ruched Waist and Pocket
Review 1 for Short Charmeuse Dress with Ruched Waist and Pocket
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ThePrincessBride82011
Location:Ithaca, NY & Alexandria Bay, NY
Wedding theme:Other
Wedding color(s):Blue
Number of wedding guests:51-100
Number in wedding party:5-7 Bridesmaids

Fabulous Flattering Dress!

Date:September 23, 2011
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
" My younger sister got married in June 2011, and I got married in August 2011. While we were both planning for our weddings (her in NY, me from FL), we inadvertently chose the same dress for our bridesmaids! Her color scheme was black with pink / lime green / watermelon / purple accents. Her BM dresses were black, and the girls all had a different colored sash. Me, being her Maid of Honor, had a black sequin flower sash. The sashes were a really cute accent to these dresses. This dress is fantastic! Us BMs ranged from size 4 to 12, and it fit us all wonderfully. My only issue was that I had to go a size up because it was super snug in the armpit/bust area for me, but fit perfectly everywhere else - also keep in mind I'm a small chested A cup. No problem though, the bigger size was just a little bit looser in the bust than I would have liked - but I was comfortable! We all LOVED the pockets! Perfect for tissues -which I totally needed - and lipgloss! This dress is the perfect length, and is super comfortable! It is a great dress to dance in. Lots of leg room, and not constricting at all. The 4 of us were Dancemachines! I can't wait to wear this dress again; it's a perfect "Little Black Dress." I would definitely recommend having a steamer handy, because if you don't keep it perfectly hung, it can easily wrinkle.
My BM's dresses were Horizon Blue, paired with silver heels (white flip flops at the reception) and their bouquets were very complimentary light & dark pink & orange flowers. My 7 BMs ranged from size 4 to 10, 5'2" - 5'11", all different shapes. This dress fit them perfectly, and was flattering to them all. They all looked so stunning! The Horizon Blue charmeuse was absolutely beautiful, and photographs very well. They too loved the pockets, and loved the comfort of the dress – especially sitting and dancing! This is most definitely a dress they can wear again!
Reading the other reviews, I think the people that were having problems with the zippers and saying how short they are were wearing a size too small for them. I could have easily gotten my normal dress size (and been uncomfortable in my armpits for hours!) but I got a size bigger, and it was perfect! No one knows your dress size but you, and when it fits better, you look better!
I COMPLETELY RECOMMEND this dress to future Bridesmaids! It’s comfortable, super cute and flirty, and you can wear it again! Both sets of BMs received TONS of compliments of how beautiful they looked! One BM was in both of our weddings, so lucky her has two of these dresses in Black and Horizon! "
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Short Charmeuse Dress with Ruched Waist and Pocket
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
alb88
Location:VT
Wedding color(s):Blue
Number of wedding guests:51-100
Number in wedding party:5-7 Bridesmaids

Flatters all figures!

Date:December 2, 2011
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
" My bridesmaids were originally all planning on getting different dress styles in the same color, but we got to the store and after they all saw this dress on my maid of honor they wanted to try it on too. It looked wonderful on all of them! Very flattering on my short/tall/petite/and fuller figured girls. We went with marine- very pretty color. "
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Short Charmeuse Dress with Ruched Waist and Pocket
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Thatswhy151

Measure twice, cut once

Date:April 17, 2013
" This style is sized small. For best fit, go to local David's Bridal Store and try on this style prior to ordering. The online store is willing to return and exchange incorrect sizes and has a better turn around on shipment than the localized stores. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Short Charmeuse Dress with Ruched Waist and Pocket
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
smarshx2

very flattering!

Date:August 30, 2012
" i was pleasantly surprised when i tried on this dress! it looked amazing on me, esp since i just had a baby less than 3 mo ago! this dress hugs in all the right places. it also comes with a set of straps so you can have those sewn if you are a bit busty. i'm still nursing and i measured at a 42D and i feel comfortable w/o straps! i'm also 5'1" and i do not have to get this dress hemmed either! i like where it "gathers" and that it has pockets! very modern. priced under $100- even better! "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Short Charmeuse Dress with Ruched Waist and Pocket
Overall
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
JadedAngel

Might want to rethink

Date:June 20, 2012
" This dress was cut very small and it was very uncomfortable. I had to send it back once and barely fit in the second one after being advised by a davids bridal retail store how to get the right size.With online purcheses you can only return online not in the store. Very big inconvience! It was way to short and as the night went on and it got hotter the material was not breatheable causing the dress to get all sweaty. It was also very hard to sit in from the fabric in the middle under the boob. Made you look pregnant from the pleteing and bubbling. Will not be ordering from davids bridal again. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Short Charmeuse Dress with Ruched Waist and Pocket
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AFSereBride
Location:Coronado, CA
Wedding theme:Beach
Wedding color(s):Blue
Number of wedding guests:51-100
Number in wedding party:5-7 Bridesmaids

Perfect Dress for a Perfect Wedding

Date:May 15, 2012
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
" We got married in Coronado, CA on the beach. My girls were from literally all over the country, and all shapes and sizes. This dress looked wonderful on all of them and was extremely budget conscious.
I would highly recommend this dress for any casual easy going wedding or formal event. It was fun, young, and as cliche as it sounds easy to wear again!!! "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Short Charmeuse Dress with Ruched Waist and Pocket
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Date:October 27, 2011
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
" (Shown in Guava) Nice dress. So pretty for a summer wedding. Was flattering on all 5 bridesmaids. Stayed very well put for a strapless dress. Comfortable and nicely made. Loved the pockets! "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Short Charmeuse Dress with Ruched Waist and Pocket
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BCNDiva
Location:Philadelphia, PA
Wedding theme:Seasonal
Number of wedding guests:51-100
Number in wedding party:2-4 Bridesmaids

Love this dress!

Date:September 5, 2011
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
" I'm getting married in a few months and I am having a brunch reception. With that being said, I selected cocktail dresses in the color watermelon for my girls. Due to different body types I let the girls pick their own dresses. One of my girls will be wearing this this dress..Not only is this dress affordable but it also has pockets! "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Short Charmeuse Dress with Ruched Waist and Pocket
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mparker
Location:Central Point, OR
Wedding theme:Other
Wedding color(s):Purple
Number of wedding guests:151-200
Number in wedding party:5-7 Bridesmaids

Beautiful Dress, Tight Fit

Date:August 21, 2014
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
" My bridesmaids wore these dresses at my wedding last month. We got them in Plum and the color and dresses themselves were beautiful. My girls ranged in size from 2-8. Warning: these dresses seem to fit very well in the store but you should order a size up for most of your girls! Only 1 of my bridesmaids was actually able to wear her size. If your girls are the slightest bit "chesty" they should order a size up. They got their dresses and many of them had trouble getting them zipped. They wore them around the house occasionally to stretch them out. Once the wedding day arrived, they fit just fine. Their favorite thing about the dresses was the pockets! Definitely a plus as a bridesmaid. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Short Charmeuse Dress with Ruched Waist and Pocket
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
KellyMack

Great Dress, Horrible Color

Date:November 7, 2013
" This is a nice dress and looked great on all of my bridesmaids who ranged from size 4 to size 18. There is a slit in the back of the dress that isn't shown in these pictures but its not bad and I don't think any of my bridesmaids felt exposed at all. The only complaint I have, and the thing I wish I would have known, is that depending on which color you choose, the material does not allow for a uniform color in all lighting. I loved the pewter color, but 1. no matter what lighting it was not nearly as dark as what is shown on this site and 2. at least 50% of the time the dresses looked purple, especially in bright sunlight which did not go with any of my other colors but it was too late to change the color of their dresses. My maid of honor was in canary yellow, and this dress worked out very well. Just be careful and make sure you know what your dresses will look like in your colors and the material of the dress. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Short Charmeuse Dress with Ruched Waist and Pocket
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
PrincessBride081013
Location:Corpus Christi, Tx
Wedding theme:Casual
Number of wedding guests:51-100
Number in wedding party:5-7 Bridesmaids

1 bridesmaids dress

Date:September 12, 2013
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
" I was not "traditional" at all when it came to bridesmaids dresses. I gave ALL of my bridesmaids the choice to pick out their own dresses as long as it was the right color. I let them choose so they can find one that fit them right, and after weeks of looking and searching for the right dress for the right price, 1 of my girls chose this dress, and it was beautiful. It was beautiful in my color (mercury) and it looks great on any body type. I was very pleased with it! Plus, an added bonus was this one had pockets! "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Short Charmeuse Dress with Ruched Waist and Pocket
Overall
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous
Wedding theme:Other
Wedding color(s):Purple
Number of wedding guests:101-150
Number in wedding party:2-4 Bridesmaids

Well. If only the zipper had worked.

Date:September 8, 2013
" I loved this dress. I loved the color, I loved the length, and the cut was very flattering. I was excited to wear it, not only to my sister's wedding where I was maid of honor, but to events in the future, as I felt it was a very versatile dress.
Until the to day of the wedding.
The zipper would not budge. At all. Thankfully, a friend had accompanied the bridal party to our suite, and was able to get the zipper up after some serious effort. But once it was up, the teeth let go, causing the dress to be stuck closed with the actual zipper piece at the top and completely open down the entire back. After realizing that there was not enough thread nor safety pins in the emergency kit to rectify this 20+ inch hole that was now in my dress, I was forced to have the dress duct taped shut and to wear a cardigan over the entire ensemble in 75 degree heat. The professional pictures are not back yet, but in the candid ones I have seen from guests, the dress is a whole lot less flattering when it can barely be seen under a cardigan and is loose around the entire waistline.
It's safe to say my excitement about this product was ruined by this malfunction. Perhaps it was a fluke? But I just expected more quality as a return customer who has been nothing but pleased with David's Bridal products in the past. This was $99 poorly spent.
The only positive thing I can say about this situation is that, thankfully, my sister (the bride) purchased her wedding gown from David's Bride and had no wardrobe malfunctions.
(Oh, and at the end of the night, I had to be cut out of the dress by the same friend who zipped me in. Even with a zipper replacement, it's ruined from the adhesive and cutting. Sigh.) "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Short Charmeuse Dress with Ruched Waist and Pocket
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
NurseCassie88
Wedding theme:Garden
Wedding color(s):Purple

My bridesmaids looked awesome!

Date:July 17, 2013
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
" Going into the process of shopping for bridesmaids dresses I said the few things I didn't want was short or satin or dark purple dresses, instead I wanted flowy light purple dresses. Well what do you know?!?... We walked out of the salon with short satin dark purple dresses, and I will tell you it was definitely a great decision for our special day! Not only did this dress look awesome on everyone but it was comfortable, sassy, young, hip and the color complemented everyone's skin nicely and made our light purple flowers really pop in pictures. You definitely could not go wrong choosing this dress. Most of the girls did not even need alterations and it is 100% something they could wear again. To give it more a spring look we added a matching floral pin from David's bridal to the middle rushed section. The pin I believe was $10. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Short Charmeuse Dress with Ruched Waist and Pocket
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AprilMarie

Looove love this dress! super flattering!

Date:May 3, 2013
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
" i read a alot of reviews on this before i decided to purchase it. the one thing i was afraid of was the wrinkling but mine did not wrinkle at all!!! i sat down in the car and to eat dinner so i wasnt sitting a long period of time. but not one wrinkle! This dress is really flattering and hits your waist at the perfet spot!! Also i have a big chest and i felt very supported! which is a huge plus! i was maid of honnor so i put a sash on with it! and it looked awesome! i would highly recommend this dress!! it can be worn even after the wedding for any other event! i have a wedding coming up soon that i am not in but i get to wear this dress again!! "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Short Charmeuse Dress with Ruched Waist and Pocket
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
PrincessPeachy
Location:Tampa, FL
Wedding theme:Other
Wedding color(s):Ivory
Number of wedding guests:51-100
Number in wedding party:8+ Bridesmaids

Great Dress

Date:December 20, 2012
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
" Loved this dress on all of my ladies. It was perfect for every figure, as we had all shapes and sizes, and it looked wonderful. The only things that I could complain about, which are very minor, were that the dress wrinkles, so make sure you steam it..and the little hook above the zipper may come off easily. We had that happen to one bridesmaid's dress that she had to return because of size issue. Other than that, dress was great! Can be worn with or without straps which is nice, and can definitely be worn again after a wedding...Ohh..and everyone loved the pockets. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Short Charmeuse Dress with Ruched Waist and Pocket
Overall
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
lealorali
Location:NY
Number of wedding guests:101-150
Number in wedding party:5-7 Bridesmaids

Silver was way too shiny for good pictures

Date:August 13, 2012
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
" This dress could be very nice, but for the August wedding in which I was a bridesmaid the silver (Mercury?) was WAY too shiny. Looked awful in almost every picture. Bride was disappointed. Satin is very tricky for bridesmaids... not very flattering. Every little sweat mark and champagne spill (oops) showed up!
Also, poor quality hem at the bottom.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Short Charmeuse Dress with Ruched Waist and Pocket
Overall
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
WickedCurls

It's not that bad...

Date:July 1, 2012
" I bought this dress for a wedding I was in, and asked my bridesmaids to buy it for my wedding (which has yet to happen). Overall it's fine.
Here are the downsides: the fabric wrinkles easily and unless you have a quality steamer, you can't get the wrinkles out; the boning up top makes your chest look really weird from the side; this dress does not work well on anyone over 5'9"--my sister is 5'10" and the dress was so short on her no matter what size she tries and there's not enough fabric in the hem to make it longer so we got her an entirely different dress.
What was good/okay: the empire waist isn't bad but girls have to know the fact that any empire waist might make you look a little pregnant but it really didn't make a big deal; this dress comes in a lot of colors; the boning on the top really helps the dress from slipping so you're not pulling it up all night; the pockets are actually a fun touch--everyone loves having them to carry small things around and they made for cute pictures when we all put our hands in our pockets.
Overall the dress isn't that bad, especially for the price. And all my bridesmaids seem to like it enough not to hate me for asking them to wear it :-) and some of them might reuse it. But I highly suggest NOT ordering online and going in to try it on. Formal dresses are usually smaller than what you normally wear. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Short Charmeuse Dress with Ruched Waist and Pocket
Overall
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
erinm80

Date:April 26, 2012
" Zipper not the best! I ordered one and had to send it back because it would not zip. After receiving the second one I discovered it was a flaw in the dress zipper itself. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Short Charmeuse Dress with Ruched Waist and Pocket
Overall
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
AshW
Wedding theme:Formal
Number of wedding guests:51-100
Number in wedding party:2-4 Bridesmaids

Cute, but...

Date:April 5, 2012
" I only have 2 bridesmaids, but they live on opposite sides of the country. One is 5'7 and the other is 5'2. I chose this dress because it would flatter both girls and could be used again (they're black). I saw the dress on the shorter of the two girls and it looked wonderful-it was the simple, elegant look I was trying to achieve. However, my MOH ordered this dress and when she tried it on it was bad news. On the back view of the dress on the website, it does not show a slit in the back. I didn't notice the slit when my one BM tried it on because the dress was so long on her. On my MOH, the dress came about 4" above her knees and the slit came up to, for lack of a better term, where the Lord split her. Literally. Luckily, I found a long version of the dress and had my MOH order it. She was lucky enough to get the last one in her size since that version was on clearance. Now she just has to get it taken up. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Short Charmeuse Dress with Ruched Waist and Pocket
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
karebare1325

A dress for any size or shape

Date:December 28, 2011
" These dresses are awesome, most of my bridesmaids are tall and thin but i have some that are short as well. I am tall and not so thin and i am getting a white color for myself for the reception and it looks AWESOME on all of us. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.