David's Bridal Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Taffeta Ball Gown with Floral Appliques on Skirt Style SV415

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at David's Bridal.

Taffeta Ball Gown with Floral Appliques on Skirt Style SV415

Rich in detail and style, this taffeta ball gown is the perfect balance of drama and romance. Form-fitting taffeta bodice features dropped waist and all over ruching for a flattering look. Cascading floral appliques shape the breathtaking skirt. Chapel train. Fully lined. Back zip. Dry clean only. Available in White. Shown wearing headpiece style F7973 and veil style 669. To preserve your wedding dreams, try our Wedding Gown Preservation Kit.
Average Customer Rating:
4.958 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(143 Reviews) 141
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (143 reviews)
5 hearts
139
4 hearts
3
3 hearts
0
2 hearts
1
1 heart
0
140 of 143(98%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Taffeta Ball Gown with Floral Appliques on Skirt Style SV415
Review 1 for Taffeta Ball Gown with Floral Appliques on Skirt Style SV415
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
deswchypoo
Location:Utah
Wedding theme:Other
Wedding color(s):Red
Number of wedding guests:201+
Number in wedding party:2-4 Bridesmaids

In LOVE!

Date:January 26, 2011
"This dress was my favorite on the website before I went in to try on some dresses this past weekend. When I got to the store there were a couple dresses that caught my eye but I was sad to see that THIS dress was not on any of the manequins. So I pulled up the dress on my Blackberry and asked the sales associate if they had this dress. She immedietely took me over to it saying "We actually just got this in Thursday." I chose 4 different dresses to try on. I should have saved this one for last instead of first, but I was that excited about it! Although I somewhat liked one other dress, this dress put them all to shame! I put it back on after trying on all the other dresses and did NOT want to take it off :) I was a little uncomfortable in a strapless for support but the sales associate let me know that they could actuall add something if I would like so where the dress huggs the chest they are going to add a single strap going from the right side of my chest up the middle over my left shoulder for added support. I am so excited that I will be able to have my own version of this dress so it will not be exactly like everyone elses who buys it. I am so thankful that they are able to do these alterations! They also can make the matching flower to match and even in the color I want it to match my shoes (which are red) June 25th can't come soon enough :)"
Review 2 for Taffeta Ball Gown with Floral Appliques on Skirt Style SV415
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CarrieLeach
Location:Lenexa, KS
Wedding theme:Formal
Wedding color(s):Purple
Number of wedding guests:201+
Number in wedding party:2-4 Bridesmaids

I SAID YES TO THIS DRESS!!!!!

Date:July 17, 2012
"Ever since I was a little girl I had dreamed of a beautiful romantic wedding... but I couldn't seem to find the guy to share it with! After I found that perfect guy the next thing was the dress! Since I am a bigger girl I really wanted something that wasn't form fitting and something that made me look a little more slender! After trying on about 15 dresses at DB I was about to give up. My consultant had brought me many choices in the style that I thought I wanted but nothing seemed to be that perfect wedding dress. When I was about to give up and leave for the day I picked this one out on a rack to the side... it was like it was calling my name. Everyone that was with me that day laughed because it was the total opposite of what I said I wanted but they told me it was beautiful and to try it on because I didn't know until I tried. Before I even came out of the dressing room I knew it was the one... as soon as everyone saw me they started to cry and that just re-assured me that it was the dress for me! I have a wide back so they did have to add a corset back to it, but that is what I really wanted anyways. I can't wait to walk down the isle on October 13th of this year :) I think my husband to be will absolutely LOVE IT!!!!!!"
Review 3 for Taffeta Ball Gown with Floral Appliques on Skirt Style SV415
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JesseN
Location:Lancaster, PA
Wedding theme:Casual
Wedding color(s):Ivory
Number of wedding guests:151-200
Number in wedding party:2-4 Bridesmaids

Picture Perfect

Date:November 29, 2012
"For 2 years now I've looked at that dress and hoped that when the day came to try on dresses, that would be "the one". Well, the time came for my appointment. As my consultant showed me around David's Bridal, we finally got to the dress section. And standing right behind her was this dress. So of course I immediately stopped her and told her that I've been dying to try this dress on for 2 years. Welp..we didn't waste any time trying it on. It was the first dress I put on..and I didn't want to take it off. It was so elegant, so feminine, so me. My mom, grandmother, and 2 MOH's faces as I walked out of the dressing room, was my confirmation that this was my dress. Of course...they thought it was way too easy and wanted to see me try at least one more on. So I did. And let's just say the reaction wasn't the same and I went right back into the dressing room and put on my dress. 45 minutes later I walked out with my dress, shoes, clutch, veil, headpiece, bra, and slip. I could not have been happier. This girl was floating on cloud 9. Thanks so much for the amazing experience. I can't wait to marry my best friend in the wedding dress of my dreams."
Review 4 for Taffeta Ball Gown with Floral Appliques on Skirt Style SV415
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
arjg8736
Location:Indiana
Wedding theme:Formal
Wedding color(s):Brown
Number of wedding guests:151-200
Number in wedding party:5-7 Bridesmaids

A Stunner!

Date:August 1, 2012
"After I got engaged, this was one of the first gowns I looked at. I showed my mom, but she thought the dress would be too heavy and I wouldn't be happy with it. So, I began looking at other styles. After trying on at least 10 dresses with no luck, I decided to try this one on. I was completely hooked. I didn't want to take it off. This dress does everything right in all the right places for my body type (I am a thick/athletic gal with a large bust). I felt confident, beautiful, and most importantly....like a bride! The top flatters my bust and the skirt detail is to die for--even more beautiful (if that's possible) in person. Simply put, this dress is a stunner!
The dress is heavier than some of the others I tried on, but after wearing it, you really don't even notice it. At least, I didn't. Because of the weight of the dress, I was concerned about bustling options. My consultant explained they do like a 20 pt bustle to evenly distribute the weight of the dress.
Both moms and my maids gasped and cried when they saw me in it, and I sure hope my fiancee will get teary-eyed when he sees me for the first time on our special day! I can't wait!"
Review 5 for Taffeta Ball Gown with Floral Appliques on Skirt Style SV415
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
eteal
Location:Huntsville, AL
Wedding theme:Other
Wedding color(s):Green
Number of wedding guests:201+
Number in wedding party:8+ Bridesmaids

DREAM dress

Date:January 26, 2011
"I was one of those brides. You know, the bride who could never make a decision on a wedding gown. When I hit the 6 mo mark for my June wedding, the sample Pronovias that was already purchased and in my closet seemed more & more like the wrong dress. All of my family & friends urged me to just become ok w/the dress I had already purchased. Then, one day I was w/one of my b.m.s at DB to get her fit for her bm dress, when I glanced down to see the back of the Spring Catalog. There it was. I started having dreams a/b this gown. The store manager called me the moment the dress came in, and my mother & I came in the next Sunday. We tried on several other dresses, but were both waiting for this one. Before we even got the dress on in the dressing room, we were both crying. That was the reaction that I had been waiting for. It is not a dress for everyone. It is heavy, it is a little opulent, but it is also very soft and romantic. The "wow factor" is definitely present with this gown. I also cannot say enough about how wonderful the staff was to work with. They have been there every step along the way, and I cannot thank them enough!"
Review 6 for Taffeta Ball Gown with Floral Appliques on Skirt Style SV415
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JandMLee13
Location:Sioux Falls, SD
Wedding theme:Garden
Wedding color(s):Yellow
Number of wedding guests:101-150
Number in wedding party:2-4 Bridesmaids

Elegant Romance

Date:April 2, 2012
"I had no clue what kind of wedding dress I wanted when I first started looking. I saw this dress online and fell in love. It was elegant and looked like a couture runway dress. It was in my budget here at David’s Bridal. I had gone to a few higher end dress shops but they couldn’t find a dress like this without getting up to $3,000+. I knew that I had to get it! I am 5’7 and was hopping that I would not have to get it hemmed and with a big hoopskirt underneath and a short 1.5inch heels I will not have to. I tried on the dress in a size 10 and it felt a little big. But my consultant told me that it was just stretched out from people trying it on so much. But I ended up calling back and changing my order to a size 8, because I knew I wanted to lose weight. I was worried before it came that it might be way too small. But I tried it on and it fit! It would have been a disaster if I had ordered the size 10 because they can only take it in 2 dress sizes. Now at least I can lose weight and not worry. I can not wait to wear my dream dress and marry my dream man on July 6th, 2013."
Review 7 for Taffeta Ball Gown with Floral Appliques on Skirt Style SV415
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MrsSavoy
Location:Clinton, MD
Wedding theme:Formal
Wedding color(s):Purple
Number of wedding guests:151-200
Number in wedding party:5-7 Bridesmaids

Loved it! Felt Beautiful

Date:September 12, 2012
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"I went into the store not planning on buying a dress, but just to try on some options to get a feel for what I liked. I had looked online for months and for some reason the photo of this dress never caught my eye; however when i saw it in the store, I thought it was so beautiful. Everyone is right when they say the advertising photo does NOT do this dress justice.
Anyway, this was the second dress I tried on...LOVED IT. I tried on about 10 more dresses after, but everyone (including me) knew that this was the one. After purchasing I was worried that maybe I made the decision to quickly and wasnt sure if I liked how the dress photographed...but when I tried it on when it arrived I remembered why I loved it. I still have some baby weight I am trying to lose and you couldnt see any of it. This dress was flattering and very unique. I got complements all day and am still getting complements on my dress! The details of the little pearls and gems on the flowers are to die for. I wish I had another reason to wear it. It was the perfect, outside of the box, dress for me."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Taffeta Ball Gown with Floral Appliques on Skirt Style SV415
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Babe1109
Location:New Jersey
Wedding theme:Formal
Number of wedding guests:101-150

The Perfect Dress

Date:December 1, 2011
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"I have found the perfect guy and we are planning our perfect day, but to a bride the "wedding dress" has to be the one just like her future husband. I have tried many dresses on in two different David Bridal stores and no dress seemed to be it. I have always LOVED this dress in the picture but I did not think it was for me. Once I tried it on, I was little in different, but I came to realize this is it my PERFECT DRESS. It fits my figure perfect; it fits my personality, and it is fun. The dress is beautiful, the way the flowers flow on the bottom half of the dress and how the hand stitched details in between the flowers make it sparkle and it is amazing. The top of the dress is fitting and it breaks up the array of flowers on the bottom. The mix of personalities within this dress and the wonderful soft taffeta fabric make this dress perfect for any wedding. This dress is also perfect for a woman of any size and shape, and it will make anyone feel like the perfect bride and a princess."
Review 9 for Taffeta Ball Gown with Floral Appliques on Skirt Style SV415
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
XOXOXOXO
Location:IL
Wedding theme:Formal
Wedding color(s):Black
Number of wedding guests:201+
Number in wedding party:5-7 Bridesmaids

Beautiful!

Date:January 20, 2011
"I just bought this gown yesterday! I saw it online and went in to David's to try it on. I handed my girl a list of many different dresses, but this one never showed up in the dressing room. I loved many of the gowns I tried on (which I was suprised because I had only gone to very expensive boutique stores), but still NEEDED to try on THIS dress. My MOH and I asked her if they had it in stock and she brought it in reluctantly. She didn't think I'd like it. The second I put it on, I was smiling! I'm not the crying type who was going to "know when it's THE dress". I asked my MOH if it was too much, and she had a smile too. It's BEAUTIFUL! My MOH asked me to put on my 2nd favorite dress just to see how it felt. I put the other dress back on and immediately asked to purchase THIS dress! I can't believe I finally bought a dress! David's had this in my size and I was the only one to ever try it on. I brought it home that day! I can't wait until October 8!!!! Thanks David's!"
Review 10 for Taffeta Ball Gown with Floral Appliques on Skirt Style SV415
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
hlayers618
Location:Indianapolis, IN
Wedding theme:Formal
Wedding color(s):Yellow
Number of wedding guests:101-150
Number in wedding party:2-4 Bridesmaids

Surprised!

Date:July 12, 2012
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I walked into the store with a list of dresses that I had liked on the website. I tried on a few and each one was nice but had something about it that I didn't like after seeing it in person.... beading that looked like vines growing all over me, skirts that looked like Belle from Beauty and the Beast, etc.
This one jumped out at me just hanging on the rack because of how unique the skirt was. I decided to give it a try but didn't get my hopes up due to being a bigger girl and some styles just don't work on my frame... I LOVED it!! We added a beaded sash to give it some more waist definition and it was the first dress of over a dozen that actually made me say LOVE.
The skirt is a bit heavy but it has these beautiful little pearls and jewels in and around each flower that don't show up in the pictures here on the site. It is so fun and unique and I can't wait to surprise my guests who are all definitely expecting something more traditional!
"
Review 11 for Taffeta Ball Gown with Floral Appliques on Skirt Style SV415
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brookielynn
Location:Spokane, WA
Wedding theme:Garden
Wedding color(s):Yellow
Number of wedding guests:51-100
Number in wedding party:2-4 Bridesmaids

Say Yes to This Dress!!

Date:January 29, 2011
"This is the most amazing dress ever! I had already purchased a different dress from David's Bridal and was questioning whether or not it really was the dress for me, since I never got "that feeling." I decided to go back in the store to try on this dress after falling in love with a very similar looking one on an episode of Say Yes to the Dress. This dress is truly breathtaking and very slimming. After trying on about 25 dresses all together and purchasing a different one, this dress is the only one that gave me "the feeling" I had been hearing you should get. The staff at David's Bridal were amazing and took the time to return the dress, slip, jewelry and veil I had already purchased all to make my dream come true. The best advice I can give any bride after this experience is, don't settle on a dress that everyone else loves. You are the one wearing it and if you don't get "the feeling," it probably isn't the one."
Review 12 for Taffeta Ball Gown with Floral Appliques on Skirt Style SV415
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
tINKS

MOST BEAUTIFUL!

Date:January 23, 2011
"We just bought this dress, the first I picked months ago! My mom actually pointed it out in a magazine! This was on my favorites list to try, which she broght out fourth in line, she had to take it off the model! No one had wanted to try it on because it's very intimidating but, I knew deep down when she brought it over it was going to be the one. I was worried though because the first couple that I chose where not looking as good as I expected and I was getting nervous. This was my imaginary dream dress. I thought if this doesn't fit right, I'm done here, tried it on..and WAAALAAAH, I walked out and said THIS IS THE DRESS. It hugs in all the right places, the most beautiful material and simple detail in each flower, who cares about jelwery and hair this is all you need! Thank you David's, LOVE LOVE LOVE! Can't wait to get married! My finace will be crying when he sees me in this extravagent piece!"
Review 13 for Taffeta Ball Gown with Floral Appliques on Skirt Style SV415
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
squirrels
Location:Canada
Wedding theme:Seasonal
Wedding color(s):Brown
Number of wedding guests:101-150
Number in wedding party:0-1 Bridesmaids

So. Stinking. Purrrrrty.....

Date:December 5, 2013
"I fell in love with this dress from the moment I laid eyes on it online.
Unfortunately, I live in Canada, and the DBs in my province didn't have it in stock.
Finally, after much inner debate, I went out on one risky limb and ordered it online, without ever having tried it on (or even a similar dress. Or a wedding dress, for that matter....).
I do not regret my choice for one moment.
The dress fits like a glove.
I'm 5'7", and about 130 lbs, and I ordered the dress in a size 4.
The ruching is very flattering to my stubborn belly fat, and the cut of the dress gives amazing curves where previously there was none.
I was prepared for a dress weighing something equivelent to that of a moose based on others reviews, but I actually don't find that it's very heavy at all.
I'm in love with this dress, and can not wait to wear it when I marry the love of my life.
"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Taffeta Ball Gown with Floral Appliques on Skirt Style SV415
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mellz
Location:New York, NY
Wedding theme:Formal
Number of wedding guests:101-150

Amazed!!!

Date:August 29, 2011
"I've had my eye on this dress since April for my February 2012 wedding. Finally I went to try it on at the store, at first I couldn't get over how heavy the dress was, but after trying on 9 dresses, I tried this one on again and could not believe how amazing I felt! I got those goose bumps everyone talks about when they find their dress... I didn't purchase it right away, i went to a few other places and tried on more dresses. I just couldn't get this one out of my mind. A week after trying this dress on I went back to purchase it. I couldn't have made a better choice. I did order it in white since we are having a winter wedding. I was nervous about how "white" it was actually going to be since the sample dresses only come in Ivory. the dress arrived a few days ago and I LOVE the white. It gives it a nice modern look... I can't wait to wear it!!!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Taffeta Ball Gown with Floral Appliques on Skirt Style SV415
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MrsBoykin
Location:Atlanta, GA
Wedding theme:Other
Wedding color(s):Purple
Number of wedding guests:51-100
Number in wedding party:5-7 Bridesmaids

...and its a winner!!

Date:July 18, 2013
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"I went to DB thinking that I wanted a mermaid style dress. After trying on about 8 different dresses I was sure I had found my dress until I tried on this dress in which my mother and maid of honor (godsister) chose for me as their pick. I was hesitant as to what I would look like and really wasn't too fond of it. However, once I came out the dressing room and seen myself I was in love with the dress and knew this was the one. In fact is was the ONLY dress that made me cry so I was for SURE that I made the right decision. Not to mention that it was half off which was even better. Ladies, don't just settle on a dress you THINK you like. Find that one dress that has that wow factor and that pulls on your heart strings a little bit. This is a dress that you MUST try on! I hope it makes you as happy and it made me. I cant wait to wear it!!!"
Review 16 for Taffeta Ball Gown with Floral Appliques on Skirt Style SV415
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
FutureMrsBessette
Location:Providence, RI
Wedding theme:Formal
Wedding color(s):Purple
Number of wedding guests:151-200
Number in wedding party:2-4 Bridesmaids

Breathtaking

Date:October 12, 2013
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"When I first laid eyes on this dress, it was basically love at first sight. I knew I had to try this dress on after reading all the postive reviews from past brides who bought this dress. I tried on a handful of dresses before putting this one on. When I finally tried this dress on, I knew I had found my dress! I wanted something very romantic yet classic and this dress superseded all my expectations. This gown fit me perfectly and the ruching is so flattering!
The venue in which we are to have our reception in has that same romantic feel so this dress is perfect! You will be very impressed with the quality of this dress!! It is quite heavy I have to admit, but after a while you really don't even notice it. This dress will leave people speechless... I can't wait for my fiancé to see me in this dress!!
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Taffeta Ball Gown with Floral Appliques on Skirt Style SV415
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JALEE
Location:Minnesota
Wedding theme:Religious
Number of wedding guests:51-100
Number in wedding party:2-4 Bridesmaids

So elegant and completely beautiful

Date:August 27, 2011
"My Mom and sister came with me to shop for my wedding gown at David's Bridal. It was a great experience!! Our dress consultant was so helpful and she really took the time to help me find my perfect dress. We did not feel rushed at all. This dress is absolutely BEAUTIFUL!! I love the accenting around the hips and the flowers are GORGEOUS. So flattering! It is a bit heavy, but that gives it a very solid complete feeling that I really like! No other dress that I tried on felt as beautiful and complete as this one. This gown is simply ELEGANT and BEAUTIFUL. Completely unique. It is so much more than I had ever imagined finding! This is my PERFECT gown and I am so excited to wear this for my April 2012 wedding!!! Thank you David's Bridal for your help and adding so positively to my very special experience!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Taffeta Ball Gown with Floral Appliques on Skirt Style SV415
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bbco
Location:Dever, co
Wedding theme:Other
Number of wedding guests:51-100
Number in wedding party:0-1 Bridesmaids

Dream Dress!

Date:November 28, 2012
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"This is a very beautiful gown, I would have never tried it on but saw a similar dress, sunday rose and maggie sottero valencia and decided that this dress was even more elegant and beautiful, with the dropped waist to show off my figure a little! I was so surprised at how well this dress fit and even though it has a lot going on, it really isn't over the top or too much. It was a little heavy, but once on, you don't really notice that much. I have to say I absolutely LOVE this dress, even everyone at work is dying for me to wear it. I dont want to take it off when I have it on. It's amazing, it's just enough princess, slimming silhouette and elegance and fun, it's a good mix. Dont hesitate, you will love it. I've seen images of so many different body types in these reviews, all look amazing :)"
Review 19 for Taffeta Ball Gown with Floral Appliques on Skirt Style SV415
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
hotbride2be
Location:Katy, TX
Wedding theme:Other
Wedding color(s):Green
Number of wedding guests:151-200
Number in wedding party:5-7 Bridesmaids

Beautiful dress... kind of heavy :)

Date:July 7, 2011
"I went into David's Bridal with six dress styles I had seen on the website. When I first walked in I saw this on the mannequin and said I loved it. The lady asked me why and I told her it was because it was vintage looking, not something a lot of people would buy and I loved the flower appliques. I had three dresses to try on and I tried this one first... I never made it to the others. :)
This dress is absolutely beautiful, romantic and perfect. I thought it wouldn't be flattering on my body because, while I have an hourglass shape, I'm a little heavier with a large chest. But, this dress was absolutely stunning on my body. I can't wait to walk down the aisle in it on July 7, 2012!
The only downfall to this dress was that it was heavy. It was actually the heaviest dress in the store."
Review 20 for Taffeta Ball Gown with Floral Appliques on Skirt Style SV415
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MrsC2
Location:Colorado
Wedding theme:Destination
Wedding color(s):Black
Number of wedding guests:0-50
Number in wedding party:2-4 Bridesmaids

Gorgeous Gown

Date:September 3, 2012
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"I absolutely loved my dress! I had seen this dress online a few months before I got engaged and knew that I wanted to try it on. I ended up going to the three stores; David's was the last and I ended up buying this dress that day....only two days after my now husband had proposed! This gown fits great and because it's a dropped waist dress it really emphasizes your waist. I will say that the dress is pretty heavy and might not be great if you're getting married in the heat of summer as the skirt does keep you warm! But I got married outdoors in August in the mountains of Colorado and had an indoor reception and I was very comfortable the entire night.
Sorry if the photo quailty isn't great, we haven't gotten back the professional photos yet, these were taken by a family member."