David's Bridal Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for FINAL SALE Mikado Gown with Ruffle Back Style T9938

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at David's Bridal.

FINAL SALE Mikado Gown with Ruffle Back Style T9938

Gorgeous mikado gown is slimming and radiant, perfect for your special day! Fit and Flare skirt shows off all your curves. Bodice features beaded neckline for added glamour. Cascading ruffle back offers an updated look for the traditional bride. Fully lined. Imported polyester. Dry clean only. Sweep train. Available in limited stores and online in Ivory. Shown wearing headpiece style H7534 and veil style V953. To preserve your wedding dreams, try our Wedding Gown Preservation Kit.
Average Customer Rating:
4.742 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(62 Reviews) 62
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (62 reviews)
5 hearts
51
4 hearts
7
3 hearts
3
2 hearts
1
1 heart
0
59 of 62(95%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for FINAL SALE Mikado Gown with Ruffle Back Style T9938
Review 1 for FINAL SALE Mikado Gown with Ruffle Back Style T9938
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
flour
Location:NY
Wedding theme:Beach
Wedding color(s):Red
Number of wedding guests:51-100
Number in wedding party:2-4 Bridesmaids

the one

Date:December 9, 2012
" The consultant brought this out for me and wen i tried it on both me and my mom cried it is soo beautiful and the fit is amazing. I would say it is very light and more suited for a destination wedding. I did not have a problem with it being sheer but because of the thinness of the material I did see my undergarments lines so I wore this slip (1123WHITE) underneath it and it was just fine. Like everyone said the model does not do it justice at all, it is really an amazing dress and looks more expensive than it really is. "
Review 2 for FINAL SALE Mikado Gown with Ruffle Back Style T9938
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MarchWed

Exquisite!

Date:October 21, 2012
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
" This dress has just the right amount of unique detail without being over the top. I highly recommend it to shorter brides who feel they get lost in a lot of A-line or fuller gowns. I also recommend a slip with volume at the bottom to accent the fit and flare shape. "
Review 3 for FINAL SALE Mikado Gown with Ruffle Back Style T9938
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MrsDJM
Location:Destin, FL
Wedding theme:Beach
Wedding color(s):All White
Number of wedding guests:0-50
Number in wedding party:0-1 Bridesmaids

Perfect Beach Wedding Dress

Date:August 10, 2012
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
" I found this dress online prior to my David's appointment, fell in love and put it at the top of my list of dresses I wanted to try on. The salesperson found the last one they had in the store, as it has been discontinued, and it fit PERFECTLY. I loved it so much I opted not to try on any other dresses and purchased it immediately! The fabric was very light and perfect for our destination wedding. I did wear a fit-n-flare slip and Spanx underneath, as I'd read negative reviews about the fabric being so sheer. The beaded neckline on the bodice has "just enough" bling I didn't need to wear a necklace. Everyone says the back of this dress is so beautiful; and it is. Couldn't have been more happier with this choice! "
Review 4 for FINAL SALE Mikado Gown with Ruffle Back Style T9938
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Korty
Wedding color(s):Blue
Number of wedding guests:51-100
Number in wedding party:2-4 Bridesmaids

What Slip Did You Wear With This Dress?

Date:July 17, 2012
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
" My wedding will be December 1 this year, and I am wondering what slips did everyone wear with this dress? I noticed that if I wore two pieces the lines underneath would show. Did any get a slip with the extra body at the bottom to make the dress more poofy?
I had been looking at this dress online for months but didn't want to go try any dresses on until my mom was with me (she just moved to town). When I finally went in to try on dresses, I pulled a few on my own, and saw one with a pretty ruffled back. When I asked my consultant about this Mikado dress, she went to look for it. Little did I know it was actually the dress I pulled and was trying on! I fell in love as soon as it was on. Now I'm gathering all the other pieces for my big day. Any advice? "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for FINAL SALE Mikado Gown with Ruffle Back Style T9938
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BriVA
Location:Maui, HI
Wedding theme:Destination
Wedding color(s):Blue
Number of wedding guests:0-50
Number in wedding party:0-1 Bridesmaids

Perfect for my Maui wedding

Date:July 6, 2012
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
" This dress was fantastic! Not too much sparkle on the front with the pearls and sequins, but also not boring as the Maui morning sun gleamed off it, and the ruffles on the back were fun, flattering and fitting with my personality. I wore it with the Malibu colored long sash in a simple knot which perfectly matched hubby's tie and completely made the ensemble. I'm 5"11 and the length was just right with flip flops. DB pics do not do it justice! "
Review 6 for FINAL SALE Mikado Gown with Ruffle Back Style T9938
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jayrenee
Location:Nebraska
Wedding theme:Formal
Wedding color(s):Ivory
Number of wedding guests:201+
Number in wedding party:5-7 Bridesmaids

My Perfect Dress

Date:June 1, 2012
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
" This wasn't a dress I wanted to try on in the store, but a consultant pulled it for me when another fit-and-flare wasn't available in my size. It wasn't what I expected to want, but the more I thought about it, the more I fell in love with it. I got so many compliments on my wedding day!
Words of wisdom: 1. This is a good dress for petite figures. I'm 5'2.5", and ordered a size 2. It needed to be hemmed, but that was the only alteration needed. It wasn't overwhelming, but had a little bit of pizzaz for my small figure. 2. I didn't use the fit-n-flare slip or the David's bridal long line bra. Instead, I used a strapless spanx-type deal that was nude and went to mid-thigh. It seems to have worked well in pictures. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for FINAL SALE Mikado Gown with Ruffle Back Style T9938
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
cjwilliams

So Excited

Date:May 19, 2012
" I was able to get this dress luckily because it was discontinued. I have no idea how they could do that to such a beautiful dress, but it fits great on the body and is so flattering without being over the top. Wonderful!! "
Review 8 for FINAL SALE Mikado Gown with Ruffle Back Style T9938
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
MollyCM
Location:Spartanburg, SC
Wedding theme:Destination
Number of wedding guests:0-50

HELP!!

Date:April 24, 2012
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
" I bought this dress and fell in love with it!! I am wanting to add one strap to it where it starts closer to my right shoulder and it crosses across the back! My mom and sister think I am crazy but I have to get this done! what do you guys think? "
0 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for FINAL SALE Mikado Gown with Ruffle Back Style T9938
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
FutureMrsGarguilo
Location:New York, New York
Wedding theme:Destination

Simply Stunning!

Date:March 22, 2012
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
" After a few visits to David's Bridal I was fustrated and had given up thinking I would never find my dress. My rep at a NYC branch brought this dress to me and initially I thought I'd hate it, but it was PERFECT! SCORE! I loved how simple but elegant the detailing on the front of the dress was. And the ruffles on the back just made the dress more feminine and fun! My wedding is nearly 2 years away and I am itching to wear my dress! Everyone is right, the model in the photo does not do it justice. It looks horrible on her, but is stunning in person! I would add a slip to make sure it is full. Not sure if it's sheer, but will definitely wear something underneath! "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for FINAL SALE Mikado Gown with Ruffle Back Style T9938
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
nikster4

Beautiful and unique

Date:March 18, 2012
" I saw the pics online and thought it was pretty, although the model doesn't do it justice. Happened to try it on in the store and didnt even make the connection from the photos. As soon as I had it on and saw the back I fell in love!!! Perfect for tiny figures who need volume in the bust and want to show off a tiny frame. It looks amazing in ivory. Can't emphasize enough how much the photos do not show its true beauty!!! Wearing it this July! "
Review 11 for FINAL SALE Mikado Gown with Ruffle Back Style T9938
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MSepp
Location:Missoula, MT
Wedding theme:Garden
Number of wedding guests:0-50
Number in wedding party:0-1 Bridesmaids

The One

Date:January 29, 2012
" I found this dress almost by accident. I was just looking at dresses for fun right after I got engaged. I fell in love with it from just the pictures...then I tried it on. It fits so well and my sisters all love it. It's so simply elegant...just a little beading...reminds me of something that Audrey Hepburn would wear. Beautiful. "
Review 12 for FINAL SALE Mikado Gown with Ruffle Back Style T9938
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JessAnnie
Location:Texarkana, Arkansas
Wedding theme:Other
Wedding color(s):Purple
Number of wedding guests:51-100
Number in wedding party:2-4 Bridesmaids

Fell In Love with This Dress

Date:January 21, 2012
" I saw this dress on here on the website, first. Then I went to the store to try on dresses, out of all the dresses I tried on that day it was the very last one, and as soon as I saw it on me I fell head over heels for it. It is very fitted, I have read the reviews that have said it was sheer? I didn't think it was really sheer at all, I however did have a slip underneath this when I was trying on, but with this dress being as fitted as it is I couldn't imagine anyone wearing it without. It fit me like a glove, very classy, and all over just perfect! "
Review 13 for FINAL SALE Mikado Gown with Ruffle Back Style T9938
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
NicoleL
Location:Lowville, NY
Wedding theme:Casual
Wedding color(s):Blue
Number of wedding guests:151-200
Number in wedding party:5-7 Bridesmaids

More beautiful than imagined!

Date:October 21, 2011
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
" I bought this dress for my August outdoor wedding. It was not what I went in for but turned out to be exactly what I wanted. I saw the reviews after about it being sheer and bought a dress shaper with the built in bra just in case (and just in case I needed some shaping!) I never had a problem with it being sheer. The only problem I had was that the pleat on top came apart sometime during the reception, as did the bustle while dancing. Overall, I loved this dress and received so many compliments on it. It was gorgeous! "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for FINAL SALE Mikado Gown with Ruffle Back Style T9938
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MrsDaniel
Location:Saginaw, MI
Wedding theme:Casual
Wedding color(s):Purple
Number of wedding guests:0-50
Number in wedding party:0-1 Bridesmaids

My wedding Dress

Date:October 7, 2011
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
" I loved my dress there were some flaws as mentioned the dress is sheer but I had that fixed.
The dress was perfect for my 1940's theme.
The dress has a beautiful ruffle down the back.
David's Bridal photo's of this dress is terrible. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for FINAL SALE Mikado Gown with Ruffle Back Style T9938
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Rae25Sun
Location:Quincy, FL
Wedding theme:Seasonal
Wedding color(s):Brown
Number of wedding guests:151-200
Number in wedding party:2-4 Bridesmaids

Beautiful but here's a few tips...

Date:September 15, 2011
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
" I love this dress! I love how simple but elegant it is and I love the back, because really during the ceremony that's what everyone is going to see the most. The dress is a little see through and it's a little "unforgiving". I plan to wear a body shaper underneath to kind of hold my tummy in and make my form a little smoother in the dress. I bought the mermaid slip so that it won't be as see through. I also bought a strapless bra... not the corset kind or whatever they're called. You can really see that you're wearing that type of bra through the dress. If you wear the shaper it's pretty high waisted and comes up to your chest, and so does the slip so you can't see your undergarments....
Hope this helps! It's really a beautiful dress and I feel really comfortable in it! I can't wait to wear it on my big day!! "
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for FINAL SALE Mikado Gown with Ruffle Back Style T9938
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
PMAK
Location:New Jersey
Wedding theme:Formal
Wedding color(s):Purple
Number of wedding guests:51-100
Number in wedding party:0-1 Bridesmaids

Uniquely beautiful, but unforgiving

Date:August 31, 2011
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
" I loved this gown because it was so different from the others I'd seen. Elegant without being "princessy". The ruffled back is gorgeous and the bodice is very comfortable. If you buy it, invest in a body shaper because the silk skirt is very unforgiving and your undergarments may show through. I added cap sleeves to my gown and found that it made the dress more comfortable to move in. Overall, loved it! "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for FINAL SALE Mikado Gown with Ruffle Back Style T9938
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Chillforever
Location:Boise, ID
Wedding theme:Beach
Wedding color(s):Green
Number of wedding guests:0-50
Number in wedding party:2-4 Bridesmaids

It was PERFECT!

Date:August 8, 2011
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
" My dress was perfect! I felt so elegant and beautiful in it. However, I wasn't in love with it the first time I tried it on, I thought it made me look fat but I liked the design and had enough faith that it would look better when it fit me, and it totally did! This experience will always remind me that you should pic a dress for it's quality and style and make it to fit YOU not the other way around. "
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for FINAL SALE Mikado Gown with Ruffle Back Style T9938
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TessMA
Location:California
Wedding theme:Other

THE ONE!!

Date:August 2, 2011
" I am recently engaged and am not getting married until next july. I saw a couple of dresses online that i wanted to check out just in case they sold out. I ended up not likeing them on. The sales girl brought me this one and i fell in love with it! (in the bag!!) i loved how vintage and simple it was. The beading and gorgeous back is amazing! It is super comfortable and fit like a glove! I am so excited because it is exactly what i wanted! I cant wait to see my H2B's face! Dream guy,Dream dress :) "
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for FINAL SALE Mikado Gown with Ruffle Back Style T9938
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Petite
Location:Indianapolis, IN
Wedding theme:Religious
Wedding color(s):Blue
Number of wedding guests:101-150
Number in wedding party:5-7 Bridesmaids

Gorgeous

Date:July 21, 2011
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
" As everyone knows that has tried this dress on, the back speaks for itself. The front leaves something to be desired, still pictures do not do it justice. My wedding has come and gone and I still hear comments about the dress. The venue girls said it was the greatest dress they'd every seen, and the back won a best picture award for my photographer.
As for everyone's issues, I did not notice it to be see through like everyone else, though mine was ordered in white material instead of the usual ivory. The material seemed cheaper than the original ivory, but no one noticed that but me. I'm very petite, with hardly any hips... which I will say is not great for this dress. It took a LOT of alterations. I eventually had one of their long slip/bras sewn into the dress to help hold it up and keep the back of the bra from showing. It worried me at first, but turned out great. Just a suggestion.
Regardless of the alterations, you and your guests will never forget the gorgeous back of this dress. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for FINAL SALE Mikado Gown with Ruffle Back Style T9938
Overall
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sose

pretty, but...

Date:July 19, 2011
" This is the dress I ordered. The promo pictures for this are really bad, they do not do the dress any justice at all. I picked it up a few days ago, and have been checking it out. It is a beautiful dress but comes with issues.
First, it is see through. The other reviews are not kidding. Even with the trumpet slip on underneath, when I look in the mirror I can even see my belly button, it is so sheer. I did not notice it in the store, but I sure do at home. Get a very good, very opaque slip if you are wearing this for an outdoor wedding, or you will be providing a show.
It also wrinkles horribly when you sit. I was sitting in it for about 15 minutes and got up and it has very noticeable and unsightly wrinkles across the middle. It looks awful. Make sure once you put the dress on, you get all your important pics before sitting. "
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.